Released worldwide: 07/09/2013
RLS DATE: 07/09/2013
BARCODE: 6-00116-88064-2
DIG BARCODE: 6-00116-88065-9

1. Head Hang Low
2. I Canâ??t Really Talk About It
3. Pitagora
4. Canâ??t Hear My Eyes
5. Memories Are Made Of This
6. Stronger
7. Promise Me

Press Release

Having recently signed to FatCat, His Clancyness are set to release their second tape EP for the label as part of the inaugural World Cassette Day on 7th September, and one month in advance of their debut FatCat album. ‘Covering Up’ comprises seven cover versions and will be released as a limited edition of just 100 copies worldwide. It will also be available digitally a week after the physical release.

His Clancyness is the alias of Bologna-based Canadian, Jonathan Clancy. An avowed rock and pop culture obsessive, Clancy cites a long and varied list of artists as influences - Swell Maps, Can, Bowie, Modern Lovers, Lee Hazlewood, Scott Walker, The Gun Club, Women, Stevie Nicks, Gastr Del Sol, Zombies and "just about every psychedelic pop nugget ever produced," and that fascination is continued on this self-recorded EP.

The EP’s seven tracks are sourced from a wide range of genres and periods – from the ‘50s pop epic, ‘Memories Are Made Of This’ (written by Terry Gilkyson, Richard Dehr and Frank Miller and a huge hit for Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, The Drifters, and numerous others), to the elegaic ‘80s indie pop of Julian Cope’s ‘Head Hang Low’ (from his 1984 album, ‘World Shut Your Mouth’); and the feral LA blues-punk rage of The Gun Club’s ‘Promise Me’ (from their classic 1981 album, ‘The Fire Of Love’, and a staple of His Clancyness’ live sets). The remaining tracks are all of this century - moving from Italian post-harcore / punk trio Altro’s 2001 track ‘Pitagora’ – (“Altro is by far my favourite italian punk band. I'd never previously sung in Italian and for some reason this song felt right. I liked the idea of changing it completely”), to the Spector-esque girl-group blues-pop of El Perro Del Mar’s ‘I Can’t Talk About It’ (from her eponymous 2006 album); to Ariel Pink’s 2009 single, ‘I Can’t Hear My Eyes’ – which Jonathan describes as “simply one of the greatest pop songs of our times, I liked the idea of bringing out the sassy element of that tune” – and the langorous electronic sprawl of Welcome Back Sailors’ ‘Stronger’ (released on a 2012 cassette album).

Jonathan explains that “recording covers is sort of like going to a deserted island for me, it's a place where you can rest your mind from your own things. I pick songs on the spot, and they're not necessarily from artists I adore - some are of course, but some are just songs that for some reason just stick with me. Usually I'll hear it and get a violent need to record it right away. I record them at home alone, playing all the instruments myself.” All these tracks were performed entirely by Jonathan Clancy (except synths on 1, 2, 3 by Giulia Mazza), and recorded at home between November 2010 - July 2013). Tracks 4 & 5 were originally released a compilation of early His Clancyness’ material, ‘Always Mist: Revisited’ (Secret Furry Hole/Splendour/Sixteen Tambourines).

The ‘Covering Up’ tape EP will be released on September 7th as part of the inaugural World Cassette Day, preceding His Clanyness’ stunning forthcoming full-length album, ‘Vicious’, which is due exactly one month later. A full UK / European / North American tour is set to follow the album release.


Dave Howell - [email protected]